Untitled #1

You know,
sometimes I think this plant I’ve gotten you
isn’t very practical.

For one, it’s in a pot,
which is dumb,
because you need to be on a plane soon.

So I guess it’s fine by me
if you decide that you want
to throw this little guy out.

But then again,
don’t you think he’s got some character?
I mean,

Look at the way
he stretches out,
as if he wants to be loved.

Look at his leaves,
all open and wide,
and honest to a fault.

I believe in him,
like Charlie Brown believes in Christmas.
So do me a favor, and

Don’t
evict him.
Not just yet, anyway.

Maybe wait a bit–
‘till you get to know him, at least–

and then, when you leave,
just leave him to dry
on the windowsill.

I’d feel better
knowing he had the view.

Leave a Reply

